Betty, Betty, Betty

My girls don’t like sandwiches (other than pb&j) and go to a peanut-free school, so last year I would get up early and bake muffins for lunches several times per week. Now they hate muffins.

So, in the interest of jazzing up the lunch bags, I bought a box of Bisquick. I have fond memories of some quick fixings made with Bisquick in college. Unfortunately, I haven’t bought it since then, and no longer have these recipies I was apparently so taken with.

So I went to the Betty Crocker website and began searching. What do you know! They have a Bisquick e-newsletter! Sounds perfect…. except that they didn’t have an option to click any provinces… only states. How could this be? How would it be possible that I could actually buy the product and not have access to recipes? As there had to be some mistake, I wisked dear Betty off an email explaining my dilemma.

Betty wrote back. “While anyone in the world can access this web site, the site is intended for use by residents of the United States of America only.” Apparently because Candians are ineligible for the programs and promotions (which I am not interested in) and because some recipies feature items and General Mills products that are not available in Canada, this seemed like a good idea to them. She offered me links to three websites that had nothing to do with Bisquick. For some reason I think she thought that would be “helpful”.

I have written her back:

While I thank you for your reply, the information was not at all “helpful.” I do not want information on connecting with my family (got it covered), cheerios, or whole grain oats. What I want is the e-newsletter on Bisquick recipies.

I am very disappointed that your company chooses to discriminate against providing this information to Canadians. It is completely absurd that this should be an issue when the internet is a media that spans the globe. The practice of supplying this electronic information only to Americans when Bisquick – and a plethora of other Betty Crocker products — is available in my country does little to foster product loyalty… in fact, it does the opposite.

So, the Bisquick sits unopened in my cupboard, my impression of Betty as a friendly sharing homemaker is tarnished, and I am spreading the word (via internet, ironically) that Betty has this anti-Canadian sharing policy.

If anyone has any tried and true lunch favourites they care to share with this busy mom of selective eaters, depite the fact that I live in Canada, I’d love to hear from you.

7 Responses to “Betty, Betty, Betty”


  1. 1 Janet September 1, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Lauri (at Lauri’s Reflections) gave us a recipe for making your own bisquick. So far we only use it for making sausage balls. I too am rather appalled that the newsletters aren’t generally available. I find that very odd, at best, and quite rude altogether. I’ll dig out the recipes and send them along. Perhaps we here in the states can set up a petition to allow access, or at least threaten to boycott Betty Crocker products. Exclusivity has no place when it comes to food!

  2. 2 Rachel September 1, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    I’d have thought that on the internet, no one knows what state — make that province — you’re from. Have you tried clicking on a random state and then giving you’re real e-mail?

    — Rachel

  3. 3 Rambling Mom September 1, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    Okay – *I* think they’re stupid — but *I* think there stupid because if they have a whole ton of recipes they should put them all on their website so people can get them

    FREE and

    INSTANTLY.

    Let’s say I peruse the website, and while I find the recipe for chocolate chip pancakes, I also see the recipe for cheesburger pie, well I grab both of those and I have breakfast and dinner taken care of. While I’m looking at those I find other recipes that I want my family to try. I suddenly run out of Bisquick and what do I do??

    I GO TO THE STORE AND BUY MORE BI$QUICK!!!!

    THAT is the idea people. Make me buy more

    (Me, personally I’ll run to Trader Joe’s and buy their whole grain baking mix and use it with the bisquick recipes — but hey Betty Betty Betty should figure that for the *ONE* person that uses a homemade baking mix or another brand there’s like 10 or 15 people going out and buying their products.

  4. 4 Virginia September 2, 2007 at 2:59 am

    If you’re still interested in anything from Betty Crocker, I’d be happy to subscribe to the newsletter for you and forward it to you! Or, simpler yet, you could just sign up with your own e-mail address and my mailing address. You could probably even make up a fake mailing address with a real U.S. city and ZIP code, which is more than Betty deserves, IMO.

  5. 5 Alto2 September 4, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Return the damn Bisquick to the store and go talk to the manager. Tell him Betty Crocker does not support Canadian customers.

    Lunch ideas: anything wrapped in a tortilla: Nutella and fruit, turkey and cheese, cream cheese and jelly, tuna, chicken salad, etc. I regularly keep a couple of packages of lunchmeat in the refrig.: turkey, pastrami or salami. If the school has a microwave, you can send single-serving cans of soup or mac & cheese.

  6. 7 MLL September 6, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    http://www.cookingcute.com/recipes.htm

    Some of the cutsy-ness is a bit much, but the recipes look good!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

