School Shopping

Tonight the girls and I did some back to school shopping. Armed with the school lists, we headed of to the store to load up with the required items.

Then I read the list. Here are just a few of the 17 items on Dolittle’s:

  • 30 pencils
  • 100 sheets of looseleaf
  • 12 duotang covers
  • 28 Hilroy scribblers
  • 3 boxes of kleenex

… with the instructions to bring all the listed supplies on the first day of school.

OK… let’s do a little math here, shall we?

If, let’s say, there are 20 kids in the class, then approximately 600 pencils will come into that classroom on the first day of school. Six. Hundred.

Let’s do more math… if there are 12 duotang covers and only 100 sheets of looseleaf, then each will contain less then 10 pages. That’s not a lot of paper for 600 pencils to fill. Of course there are the 28 scribblers, besides.

And 3 boxes of kleenex. On the first day. Those 20 kids would generate 60 boxes. Sixty! I can’t imagine where the teacher would store them all, let alone how they would fit in the backpack with the other 16 required items.

So, bad mommy that I am, and given that I have no wagon with which to send my kids with all those things (for however would they carry it all), my kids are going to show up on the first day of school with the quanitites I think they need. They’ll have some pencils, and some scribblers, and a little bit of each of the 17 things. And I will replenish what they need as the school year wanes on.

I really have no idea how large families manage.

6 Responses to “School Shopping”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom August 28, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    At the school that Princess and Chip go to, they have a school supply service. You write one check at the end of the school, and ALL the supplies show up, labelled, in the classroom, on the first day of school. It’s great for me — rambling slacker mom

  2. 2 ineffably August 28, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    I have reason to believe that your 3 boxes of kleenex makes up for the lack of boxes from other parents. But, I am sure that they are appreciated!

  3. 3 Mom of 4K August 28, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    LOL, big families buy in bulk after school starts only to store them away for the next semester (High School you get new supply lists each semester). Oh, and then you always find a box of stuff in May that you forgot you had bought and put up 2 years previous–but those items are no longer asked for. Ugh.
    Anne

  4. 4 Silly Student August 29, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    I agree. My son filled his new backpack with ALL of his school supplies. He nearly fell over backwards… needless to say… He is NOT taking everything the first day either.

  5. 5 Janet August 31, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Ah, yet another thing to dread about sending them to school . . . I have 2 1/2 years before that happens, so I’ll try not to fret undually. I’ll just consider myself warned!

    janet

  6. 6 Janet August 31, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Or maybe unduly. Ugh. I could spell once upon a time . . .


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

