Momentary Glory

We had a great weekend, and I’ll post some details of our zoo journey later.

Last night Rainbow was in the bathtub leisurely soaking and pondering questions like how many cups of water one would have to scoop to empty the tub. I passed her a bottle of moisturizing body wash and suggested she may like to try this product to wash up.

“It would be great for my skin” she said.

“How do you know that?” I asked.

“Because YOU would never give me anything bad for my skin,” came the answer. “You are a good mommy. You may even be the best mommy in the world.” (There was a brief pause). “Yes! You ARE the best mommy in the world, I think.”

This is only funny because in about one hour I will have to try and wake my children to begin another Monday. And I have the sneaking suspicion I’ll suddenly be demoted to “Meanest Mommy in the World.” I’m just basking in the accolades while I have them.

2 Responses to “Momentary Glory”


  1. 1 Anonymous August 20, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    Take a mental snapshot of the moment and save it in your heart for the angst-y teen years that will come soon enough. That’s what I did – and it really helped me through some painfully rough patches with my own two girls.

  2. 2 Lauri August 22, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    That’s so sweet about the lotion and being a good mommy.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

