The Ocean Calls

Inspiration began to egg me on when we came to an interesting sand sculpture in the mall recently…

Pirates, sand… calling me to the ocean.

Then the sun shone on my day off (wonder of wonders).

Then, to top it all off, I noticed over at Big Girl Underoos that Big Girl had committed the brave and courageous act of buying a two piece swim suit. How could I not be inspired in the act of such fearlessness?

I knew it was time I did the same.

First the girls and I headed to the Dollar Store to purchase an assortment of buckets and shovels, suitable for building castles extraordinaire. Then to the Department Store where each of us would pick out a new two-piece for this summer. If Big Girl could do it, so could I. Amazingly, in a total of about 15 minutes, we were fully equipped in swim gear, each choosing the very first one we came upon it seemed.

I have to confess here that I was not as brave as I am letting on I was. The two piece I choose, has one of those shirt like tops and a skirty bottom so the outfit sort of resembles a very short sun dress. In fact, I think it covers more bod than the now retired one-piece (which was rarely worn but looked as if it had been). But in my humble estimation, the very fact that there is now a separate top and bottom is a huge step up for me, who typically wears the shorts and baggy t-shirt sort of look to the ocean.

Despite the fact that by the time we had hit both stores, and it was late in the afternoon, we headed to the beach to christen our purchases. And while no amazing sand sculptures resulted from the venture, we still look forward to many more visits to the beach in the weeks to come. Perhaps practice will help our sand art.

(Oddly, there are no photos of Sock Girl’s new swimwear. Funny, that.)

6 Responses to “The Ocean Calls”


  1. 1 LSM June 28, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Hmmm…how odd that those Sock Girl swim photos were left off the page. I’m glad you enjoyed your beach day. I’ve learned, thanks to the weather guy, that today is the 17th day of the last 19 that we’ve had rain. Lovely.

  2. 2 Mom of 4K June 29, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Wow! I wish I had time to go to the beach. I have only been once this year (and our beach weather starts somewhere around April. I know my summer will start soon. Congratulations on the 2 piece swim wear :). The girls look adorable.
    Anne

  3. 3 Robin June 29, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    It sounds like a fun day. I’m hoping to get to the beach before we leave the east coast and head back to the midwest.

  4. 4 kim June 30, 2007 at 4:07 am

    Glad that your suit shopping went better than mine…..

  5. 5 Alto2 July 2, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I want to see that new swimsuit, you coward! Glad to see you got to the beach. Hope the summer brings you lots more wonderful beach days.

  6. 6 Sassy Pants July 10, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    I’m so glad I could be an inspiration!

    I actually managed to not only bring the two piece, dare I say it, bikini, on vacation but also wore it. And I didn’t DIE! who knew?

    I don’t think there will be any pictures of me in the suit on the web anytime soon either.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

