My Brother’s Surprises

As a bit of background information, whenever my brother and I were asked as children what we wanted to be when we grew up, my father always suggested the careers of doctors and lawyers. Grandchildren still receive the same suggestion. I recall once Dolittle telling my father she wanted to be a dog walker. My father, of course, said, “Why don’t you be a doctor or a lawyer?” to which she responded, “No, I’m going to walk their dogs.”

In January my brother headed to Afganistan with the Canadian forces, with an expected date of return in August. But before he left, we had a little project…

My brother actually did want to be a doctor. While he currently worked in a hospital in another field, he wanted to play an even bigger role in health care. So before he left for Afganistan, he sat down at my computer, and sent off his application to a medical school in Ontario.

This school received 5000 applications for 162 seats. They interviewed the top 10% of students. In March he got an interview (which happen to coincide with a break he had). And last month my brother received word that he IS one of those 162 future doctors. Even better, the forces were sending my brother home at the end of June to get settled and move, etc., before he begins his training in September. And I couldn’t blab because my brother wanted to surprise my parents and his kids with both the news of his early homecoming, and his new career path.

So, this weekend, Brother presented his many happy surprises. He showed up at my parents work and spread the joy (you can probably still hear them saying “Oh My G*d!!” if you listen closely). He also posed as a waiter to suprise his kids at a pizza restaurant. And FINALLY I can tell you all this story.

I love ya’, Brother. And I am so very proud of you.

4 Responses to “My Brother’s Surprises”


  1. 1 BunnyBubblette June 25, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Very Cool!

  2. 2 Rambling Mom June 25, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Your brother is HOME!!!!! Really when I first saw the subject I was like “isn’t her brother still in Afghanistan” but I guess not.

    The rest of the stuff is pretty cool too. He must be one very bright guy to win a seat at THAT school (so at 162 per class, how many graduate??).

    Your brother is home!!!!!

    Of course he’ll be going away again soon but medical school in Ontario is not quite as far as Afghanistan. (Where in Ontario will he be located)

    GO BRO GO BRO GO BRO!!!

  3. 3 Alto2 June 25, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Echoing RM, I am ecstatic that your brother is home. Thrilled to hear about his admission to medical school and all the wonderful surprises. After serving in Afghanistan, dissecting a cadaver will be easy.

  4. 4 Anonymous June 25, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    This is beautiful news… I’ll keep watching the bikers, just in case he goes by!
    Mrs. Goodwitch


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

