Dear Carrie Underwood

First, and I completely realize that my first point is no fault of yours other than you made the darn song, but the radio station has GOT TO STOP playing “Before He Cheats” before I explode. In a three hour shift on Friday night they played it twice. Twice. In three hours. Don’t you think there are enough songs out there that one can be spared having a single song repeated more than once in a three hour period? Anyway…. that one is only marginally your fault.

But what is really bugging me is the song itself. You are singing about a situation where you use the word “probably” seven times.

– he’s PROBABLY slow dancing
– she’s PROBABLY getting frisky
– he’s PROBABLY buying her a fruity little drink
etc. (I’ll spare readers the verbatim repeat).

My question is, before you actually go ahead and trash the vehicle (which is most likely against the law where ever it is you are singing from), shouldn’t you have a bit more than PROBABLY?? Shouldn’t you have a couple of DEFINITELY’s? I have no doubt the man is a rat-fink, but do get some FACTS before committing a criminal act, dear.

And that one little thing makes the repetitious playing of the song all the more painful. Definitely.

3 Responses to “Dear Carrie Underwood”


  1. 1 Mom of 4K June 10, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Hehe, I agree, I hate to hear “poor me” songs…but part of me would love it if my personalilty would let me do some of the things she does in that song. “Carve my name into those leather seats” 🙂

  2. 2 Alto2 June 10, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    You could definitely call the radio station and complain about the song’s rotation. They probably won’t give a damn. You could definitely find out who wrote the lyrics to that infernal song, but you probably couldn’t contact him directly. You can always rant about what irks you, and we will definitely support you. And, we don’t cheat. Ever.

  3. 3 Robin June 14, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    Ugh! That song has been driving me close to a rant, too. And for the same reasons.

    Bad enough it’s getting so much air time on the radio. The video keeps popping up all the time, too. I watch VH1 when I’m on the treadmill and I’ve seen the TWICE in less than an hour. I’m pretty sure there’s no shortage of videos, old or new.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

