A Castle Cometh

A friend recently emailed asking if Rainbow would like to have her daughter’s Playmobil castle. Rainbow was delighted. A castle! Stuff! Mail! All things bound to bring a child joy. Friend said that she would leave it in as large sections as possible to make re-assembly easier. Sounded like a fine plan.

I have to admit, and I’m not certain that this confession will paint me as a bad mommy or not, but my children have never owned a single thing made by Playmobil. I really had no idea what to expect.

Finally, the card comes to the mailbox that tells us Rainbow has mail at the post office. As she happens to have no school yesterday (for incoming grade one’s orientation), we excitedly trottle on downtown to pick up the parcel. It is packed in a box the size of a small country.

I was thankful that Rainbow was with me to pick up the package as the box was much bigger than I expected. I needed her assistance to open doors and tell me if I was about to walk into someone or something. Eventually we get it to the van (parked what feels like miles from the post office), and make a few more stops before arriving home.

I eye the box. Bless her heart…… in a box that big Friend must have shipped it still together, or at least in very big hunks of castle… We’ll just snap this puppy together and have a great afternoon of playing….

Or not…


It seems that Canada Post must have had a bit of fun with the parcel as well… Some assembly was definitely required.

So piece by piece we explored the gift. We wondered what this bit or that bit were for. We marvelled at the little people. We searched on-line to try and find some sort of image to guide our project. (I had no idea Playmobil made so many things). And nine hours later we had this…


I admit I have a bunch of pieces left over so I’m sure I don’t have everything just right, but I also admit we had a great day.

5 Responses to “A Castle Cometh”


  1. 1 Mom of 4K June 2, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Oh what fun!!! I hope you have hours and hours of fun in the “Kingdom”.
    Anne

  2. 2 Anonymous June 3, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Arrgh! So sorry! It was in MUCH bigger chunks when I shipped it! There is also a pavilion, that has a dome like the castle. It is one story and was completely intact when shipped. Surely the USPS and Canadian postal service must have been playing soccer with the box on the way to your house. Anyway, I hope Rainbow likes it.

  3. 3 Lauri June 4, 2007 at 2:47 am

    We love Playmobil toys. My boys have a lot of the knight and pirate things.

  4. 4 Alto2 June 4, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful time creating your castle. Personally, those Playmobil toys drove me batty. All those teeny little pieces all over the floor and in my feet. Maybe they’re better for children older than the boxes suggest.

  5. 5 Robin June 4, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    How lovely!

    Nine hours? Wow. Looks like it was worth it, though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

