Unskilled

There are a number of skills I am just no good at… for example…
– keeping plants alive
– bowling
– computer games

I also have to confess…. I cannot barbeque. Nor do I try. And it is an exercise in planned ignorance.

You see, if I learn to barbeque, or inadvertently discover that I actually can do it, then it will become something else that I can be called upon to do for everyone in the house. By not having this skill in any way, if I do not happen to feel like cooking on any particular evening I can walk in the door after work and say in a voice that attempts to sound ravenous, “Wouldn’t barbeque sound gooooood right now?” Then when everyone agrees that barbeque would indeed be a marvellous idea, it becomes someone else’s responsibility.

Unfortunately, this little trick only works for dinner. If only I could figure out what one could possibly barbeque for breakfast, I’d really be on to something today.

3 Responses to “Unskilled”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom May 31, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    My sister (who does not drink coffee) is famous for making the “worst coffee ever” so on holidays when it comes time to make a pot of coffee and everyone else is sitting around on their tushies going, let’s have some coffee but who’s going to make it, all sis has to do is say “I’ll make the coffee” to cause a RUSH to the kitchen to keep her from the coffee pot.

    My sister is (like you) a very intelligent woman.

  2. 2 Alto2 May 31, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    You mean he actually has useful skills and uses them to your benefit? Oof! I just fell off my chair.

  3. 3 Katy June 21, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Funny that’s exactly what my mom always told me growing up. Mom had “no idea how to pump her own gas” until I was in college, she made my dad do it or we went to the full service Sinclair station. Once I pressured her to learn, so she could do it herself and explained what was really going on.

    Funny blog, btw! Followed a link from To Whom it May Concern 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

