Be Careful What You Wish For

The lack of household heat and hot water being what they were, to say this was not the best of hair days might be putting it a tad mildly. Combine that with the fact that I could not find my mascara this morning and was at work for an hour and a half before I realized that I had neglected to zip up my pants, and its a wonder someone didn’t make a 911 call to the fashion police. It was a fugly day, people. It was a fugly day. The kind of day where both your hair spray and your deodorant give out by about noon.

But luck being what it is, I needed to stop at the grocery store for milk and eggs on the way home. I quickly pick up my items, and am surprised to find a check out with its little light on and nobody in line. Must be my lucky day, I think… completely forgetting that up until this moment luck hadn’t shown its little face in days. It was not until I had punched in my debit number that I realized there was a television camera on this particular check out. What they might have been filming, I have no idea, but I’m here to tell you the very prospect that my fugly little self might be immortalized on film increases exponentially with how fugly I was. And how many people I went to school with who might be watching.

I had the kind of look Stacey & Clinton show in secret footage on “What Not To Wear.” I guess the good news is that I may have taken my first steps to actually being a little old lady made famous in a commercial… or at the very least some staff training video. Perhaps it’s time to set the sights a tad higher.

2 Responses to “Be Careful What You Wish For”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom May 23, 2007 at 3:47 am

    HEY – maybe you’ll get picked out and picked up and get a full makeover and a spa day or something????

  2. 2 Cheryl May 23, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I like that idea… spa day would be great.

    About a week ago I was almost finished of a project I was making and just needed one thing at Walmart. I went out with Mickey Mouse pants and a horrible hair do. I saw more people than I have seen at the store in ages. The more you want to fade into the background the more you will not. That is my Murphy’s Law


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

