Where’s the List?

Now that I have accomplished the whole degree thing, I have been putting some thought into my what needs to get done next and have been attempting to create a “life list”… a 50 before 50 sort of thing. Realistically, if I actually wanted to accomplish 50 things before I turn 50, given how my life seems to go, I probably should have come up with this list when I was about ten years old, so I have decided that this could be a sort of carry over kind of thing. What doesn’t get done by 50 will just go on the 60 before 60 list. One has to keep striving after all.

So I sat down and pondered what I wanted to do, or have, or be.
I’ve been thinking for two days.
I have nine things so far.

And despite the fact that the list making is not going as well as I anticipated, I may have figured out the a long term career goal… one for the 80 before 80 list. I think I want to be one of those little old ladies who become famous in television commercials, like Clara Peller’s “Where’s the beef?”. Remember her?

So maybe simply getting older should be on my “life list?” And if so, wouldn’t that pretty much guarantee you’d never finish your list (perpetually carrying it forward)?

(Sigh) Maybe I should just list 50 different chocolate things I could eat and be done with it.

2 Responses to “Where’s the List?”


  1. 1 BunnyBubblette May 14, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    I know what you mean. After I finished up my degree (in 1999), I was suddenly like, “okay, so what do I do now?” It does become habit to go down your list of assignments for each class and check them off, and it feels a little weird when you suddenly don’t have a list to check off. I think my goal now is to spend more time doing things that I *want* to do, and less time doing things that I *have* to do. Of course, I still have to go to work and bring home a paycheck, etc., but after work I’m going to try to spend more time doing stuff that I actually like doing.

  2. 2 kim May 15, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    I know how hard it is to do one of those lists! I am working on my 40 before 40 list, and i started it 6 months ago! I only have 8 months left to go before i turn 40…i thinbk the first thing on the list should be to finish the damn list!

    Congrats on the graduating thing!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

