To go or not to go

Thank you all for your kind words on finishing the course work required for my degree (and hopefully passing ye old Español).

Wanting to be done the work, and wanting to actually attend the ceremony, are two completely separate issues, however. I never, before actually finishing that last exam, ever dreamt of actually attending the ceremony…

– I’d have to take a Saturday off work.
– My family (particularly my kids) would probably be bored. Heck I’d probably be bored.
– I’d probably have to buy a new dress and cough up a deposit on the gown/robe/mumu.
– For one tiny moment, just when they call my name, I’d be the centre of attention… and that really isn’t that important to me.
– It’s really just fluff.

But now that I’ve actually experienced the satisfaction of being done, I’m not completely sure I want to skip it. I actually liked that feeling of self-satifaction. Now, I just can’t decide.

8 Responses to “To go or not to go”


  1. 1 Anonymous April 23, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Do it! I skipped my university graduation many many years ago – I thought I was too “cool” for all that – and after attending my daughter’s ceremony last June, I realized what I had missed. Just go … and take a great photo with all your family proud beside you. It’s not something you can re-do if you change your mind down the road. Congratulations on all your hard work!.

  2. 2 Doc Thelma April 23, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Go! Your kids can suck it up… They’ll be all sorts of gushing about all the graduate’s accomplishments and both you and your faily deserve to hear that. And when you’re surrounded by all the other robed figured who have accomplished the same as you, you’ll be glad you came.

    Don’t bother with a new dress (unless you want/deserve one for another occasion)… no one sees what’s under the robe.

  3. 3 Rambling Mom April 23, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I’m with Doc Thelma — You worked for it.

    Do a “Quantum Leap” forward 5 years — which will you have regretted more?? Going?? Or not going?

  4. 4 NeuroticFitchMom April 23, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    I always dread things like that but I always regret if I don’t go

  5. 5 BunnyBubblette April 23, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Definitely go! I made my kids sit through mine a few years ago. In fact, my graduation ceremony took an entire weekend for my entire family. I was a Distance Learning student at RIT, so my graduation was the first time I actually stepped foot on campus. We had to drive all the way from the Philadelphia area up to Rochester, NY. Yes, it was worth it.

  6. 6 Tanya April 24, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Go! Celebrate! Enjoy! You deserve it!

    Way to go!!

    -Tanya

  7. 7 Alto2 April 24, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    You have more than earned this rite of passage. You need to experience the joy for yourself. Your children, spouse, and family need to acknowledge and respect your achievement. Your girls, especially, need to see their mother’s success.

    Cueing up Elgar’s “Pomp and Circumstance” right now . . .

  8. 8 Sassy Pants April 24, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    I had the same thoughts as you did. But now I’m definitely going. I need the closure. I need someone to say, “Yes. NOW you are really and truly done. Congrats.”


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

