Three Little Words

So I was reading “Man Descending” for class tonight – a fine Canadian short story which features a drunken hero and a street fight with his wife’s lover – and for some inexplicable reason I become fixated on the part about the character’s realization that life is an ascent which peaks, pauses, then descends. OK – perhaps it is explicable – I was in mid pity party again. But I found myself completely ignoring the fact that the character was a 30-year-old lazy drunk and wondering if, by chance, I was actually on the decent of my life. I mean, the last couple of years have sort of sucked, and here I am, on the last week of classes, looking graduation in the face (please G*d and presuming I pass), with the fantastic prospect of doing absofreakinglutely the same damn thing I’m doing right now (which is sitting at a desk toiling at something that will nearly pay the bills while most of my skills rot silently). And ignoring the fact that the character can’t hold a job and I have to have at least two to make ends meet, I began to question whether all of this is really worth it. Will working my ass off actually eventually get me anywhere? Can I actually climb out of the abyss at some future point? Will I ever again feel like the direction of my life is going forward?

And then… as I was blog surfing… (and I’m sorry I can’t recall which blog it was at the moment)… I came to three little words… three words that made all the difference to me today…

Lather.
Rinse.
Repeat.

That author deserves a Pulitzer.

The truth is, it really doesn’t matter…

I suppose… if your project is your job, your book, your education, your child’s care, your next exam, or your life as a work in progress… it’s really all the same. As long as you have hope, and as long as you keep at it, you’re bound to be ascending.

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.
Work Hard. Live well. Be patient.

3 Responses to “Three Little Words”


  1. 1 NeuroticFitchMom April 4, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    It is. What matters is enjoying it. Be in the moment. Hugs

  2. 2 Alto2 April 4, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    And tell your DH to get off his ass and go to work to take some of the pressure off you.

    Good luck on the end of classes.

  3. 3 Christina April 5, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    🙂 Must throw in an “I Agree!” to echo Alto2 🙂

    I’ll also add that this was very simple and beautiful. I am very glad you found something to lift your spirits. Good luck with passing that course!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

