More thoughts on driving through life

I have not posted in a couple of days as my head is apparently having a sinus party that goes all day and all night. Of course, I have a paper to write for next week, so I feel like crap. I would describe my illness to you here in great detail, but am not prone to writing horror. Why is it that I am never sick when I have no deadlines, and always, it seems, when time is of the essence?

Anyway… I’ve not been languishing around with an empty mind to go with my full sinuses. I’ve been pondering again. Now that typically means either I am deciding again that my life is not where I want it to be, or I’ve gone off on another irrelavent rant about something. In this case it is the former. Remember when I pondered being a passenger in one’s own life, and thought maybe one needed at least a little bit of that? I’ve been thinking about that lately, and I am not at all happy with the current state of things in the life of Sock. I’m a passenger. Without a destination. Or a map. Since life took a tiny detour from self-employment, I have no clue what I want to be doing (though fairly clear impressions of what I don’t want to be doing), no clue how I plan to get there, or what I want to see on the way. I am reminded of that Cheshire Cat in Alice and Wonderland:

“… thought Alice, and she went on. “Would you tell me, please, which way
I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
“I don’t much care where –” said Alice.
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
“– so long as I get somewhere,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

Do you think it’s odd that I take some comfort in that? That if I only walk long enough I’ll get somewhere eventually?

I’ve also been wondering if my issue is the fact that I have no map… or that I live in a place with so few roads.

If only one could type “Sock Girl’s Life” into Mapquest and get directions.

For now, it’s a matter of staying on cruise control and just watching for signs. Perhaps with some more sleep, and a few more days of antibiotics both my sinuses and the view from the windshield will become clearer. I live in hope.

3 Responses to “More thoughts on driving through life”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom March 28, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    I wonder if sometimes knowing where one is going is less important than realizing one is in the wrong place to begin with, and one needs to go somewhere. (I think I’m talking to myself here)

  2. 2 Alto2 March 28, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    The current path in the Life of Sock was a necessary one to take you away from the previous path that, well, sucked. If your sinuses are channeling change, then go with it. I, for one, am convinced that writing is your future. You have a gift, and we need to figure out how to market it to the world … or at least the Maritime Provinces.

  3. 3 NeuroticFitchMom March 28, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I hope you feel better soon. I think it will eventually fall into place


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

