Recharging Optimism

It has been hard not to be discouraged about the lack of job prospects here. About the lack of permanence. About the fact that I have actually fallen drastically behind my chosen path in the last few years and am now not even on the same road. Well — if truth be told — I am on the same road I was almost two decades ago. Starting over. It’s discouraging.

My moto this year was supposed to be “REACH.” But what if there is nothing to reach for? And, with no hope in sight… no pending interviews… no prospects of permanence or advancement, or even a position which exercises my brain in a way which would keep me engaged… I feel like having myself a teeny pity party, though that would be a colossal waste of energy. I need to pick up my spirits and keep plowing through.

Today was Dolittle’s spring concert at school. It had the theme “Possibilities.” They talked and sang about the futures ahead of them, their dreams, the potential. I want that so much for my children. I want that for me too.

I think I need to sit down and visualize… Maybe collage or journal or even doodle where I would love to be in a perfect world… Perhaps if I make myself a visual reminder it will reawaken the hopes.

So where do you turn to recharge your optimism and your dreams? What do you do to feel centred when things seem off-kilter?

2 Responses to “Recharging Optimism”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom March 9, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Gee, that’s a really good question. I hope you get some inspiring answers (and I’ll plan to check back and see if there are any wonderful comments).

  2. 2 MLL March 10, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    You’ve got me…..I’m right there with you. Fresh out of job-related optimism. Gee, some help I am, huh? I told DH next job he gets should be in a rural area, near a winery. I’m going to work part time at the winery, and own a dog kennel where I’ll board dogs, and maybe breed some puppies on the side. Unfortunately, there aren’t many private schools that exist in such areas!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

