On Seacrest

I admit, I watch and enjoy American Idol. I could also more easily name the list of winning American Idols than I could the Canadian Idols. But can I just say that Ryan Seacrest is really getting on my nerves this year.

I appreciate he is attempting to lighten the spirits of broken-hearted, criticized contestants. Really I do. But when he edges them on to talk back to the judges, it’s time to change the channel. No good can come of this… no good at all. I can’t imagine it helps ratings. And it only makes the contestant (should they choose to participate in the Seacrest Game of Puppetry) look obnoxious and full of themselves.

And can I briefly address the pseudo cool? I’m thinking he really doesn’t have the background at any point to address a contestant as “Bro.” Not even if they were, in fact, brothers… which I am reasonably sure they were not. And, while we’re on the topic of expressions, the way Mr. Seacrest says Randy’s ‘aa-ite’ (alright) just isn’t working for me either.

So, be comforting, call the girls ‘darling,’ and schmooze with the stars. But please, please, please stop trying to be “all that.” And stop trying to spark confrontation. Neither is entertaining. I’m just saying.

2 Responses to “On Seacrest”


  1. 2 Alto2 February 26, 2007 at 5:49 am

    I cannot stand that guy, Randy. He puts himself forth as this big music producer who knows a lot about music. Let me tell you something: he is not musical. He doesn’t know squat about musicality or the gift of musical talent. He probably knows what will sell records, but that is a far cry from pitch and tone and rhythm.

    As for Seacrest, he is a poser. No one expects him to be more. He’s an ass for baiting Simon Cowell, who is the epitome of what is wrong with the entertainment industry.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

