Working Conditions

I took the girls to a Chinese restaurant tonight to pick up a couple of eggrolls and while we were waiting noticed a chart which listed birth years, the Chinese sign you were born under, a brief description of your personality, and your suited occupations. I, being born in a year of the tiger, am apparently suited to be a boss, race car driver, or matador.

I snickered. Matador.

“What is a matador?” inquired the girls.

“A bullfighter,” I responded.

“Yes,” Dolittle agreed, “that is silly. You really should be a race car driver.”

“Oh, yes,” added Rainbow, “because you should never be a boss.”

“Why not a boss?” I asked, as it seemed I was the only one there who was not following the logic. Did I lack leadership? Am I pushover? I had to know!

“Because,” elaborated Rainbow in that ‘duh!’ tone that children reserve for clueless parents, “bosses have to give away too much money…”

“And,” continued Dolittle, “race car drivers get to have the wind in their hair.”

So, you see, I’ve had it all wrong lately. It is not a permanent job I should be looking for. It’s not pleasant co-workers. It’s not even a job with decent coffee. It’s wind, baby. Wind.

Monday, I’m opening the windows.

5 Responses to “Working Conditions”


  1. 1 ChaCha February 11, 2007 at 3:03 am

    that’s too cute

  2. 2 Christina February 11, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Hey there – just catching up after my own very crappy week at work. Darn planets! I am so sorry that they zapped you too.

    I think wind sounds like a very good thing to find :->

  3. 3 BunnyBubblette February 11, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    They have matadors in China???

  4. 4 Alto2 February 13, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Channeling Austin Powers are you? I love your daughters’ insight. Those two are dead-on.

  5. 5 djn February 15, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    I never thought of it like that before. Brilliant.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

