Getting Loaded

Got loaded today…

First I loaded the groceries into the cart.
Then I loaded them out of the cart at the cash.
Then I loaded the bagged groceries back in the cart.
Then I loaded the bags into the van.
Then I loaded bags into the house.
Then I loaded the groceries into the cupboards.

I once heard that as an exercise in gratitude it was good to consider the origins of a single simple thing… let’s say a cup of tea… and think about how many hands were involved… the planting of the tea, the growing of the tea, the harvesting of the tea, the processing of the tea, the wholesaling of the tea, the retailing of the tea, the brewing of the tea… then the cup….

It occurred to me today how grocery shopping is a bit like that… so many steps involved in something so simple as ensuring there is milk for the morning… Things we don’t even recognize as being part of the process…

Where am I going with this? Essentially, I have noticed that the busier I have become (work has been crazy, classwork, family life, etc.), the less I have to blog about. How can I do more and say less? Is it because nothing is really occuring that is noteworthy, or is it because I am not taking the time to observe and consider the activity and the environment as I go about loading and lugging? I’m really starting see the importance of carving out a teeny bit of down time to breathe, relax, notice, and be thankful.

I need “tea time.”

3 Responses to “Getting Loaded”


  1. 1 Alto2 January 15, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Wish we were closer than 2100 miles, so we could sit down and have tea together from time to time. Maybe we could brew some tea and meet for a virtual tea one afternoon on iChat. I’ll have to remember that I’m an hour behind you.

    Sounds like you have writer’s block. It hit me in mid-December after slogging thru NaBloPoMo and Holidailies. Use memes and prompts you find on other’s blogs. Just keep writing b/c we all love to read your work.p

  2. 2 Lauri January 16, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Lovely post.

    I think it is that we get too busy to notice those little things, to dwell on the connections and how things are important to us.

    Hope you find tea time!

  3. 3 Cheryl January 24, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    I need tea time too!!! We should get together after I get back.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

