Super-Size It?

It is probably no surprise that we think many products have gotten smaller in an attempt for the manufacturer to realize more profits. It is natural for us to suspect it is, for example, the chocolate bar that has gotten smaller than it was when we were younger, and not that our childhood memories of larger chocolate bars is false.

The other day I bought a cup of coffee and when I opened the lid I discovered that the cup was not full. Why buy a large if you only get a medium? I ordered it black so it was not so they could put cream in it? When did large become “almost large”???

Remember Cup of Soup?….. I give you exhibit one:


There is enough product to create 3/4 of a cup of soup. Really? Can you call 3/4 of a cup of soup CUP of Soup? Isn’t that a tad misleading? Why not add enough product to create a whole cup and put fewer pouches in the package? (Don’t even get me started on the “No Spoon Required” line when the instruction says “Stir”). Maybe they’re leaving room for crackers? (Maybe you stir it with the cracker?)

Or is 3/4 of a cup really the way things are supposed to be? Because over Christmas, this container of hot chocolate mix arrived at the office:


Why not add 4 tablespoons of cocoa mix and a whole freaking cup of water? I can “stir well and enjoy” a whole cup about 25% more than I can 3/4 cup, I think.

And while I have far more to say, I think I’ll leave you with 3/4 of my thoughts on the topic… Apparently that is how things are done. I’m just saying.

2 Responses to “Super-Size It?”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom January 8, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    OH MY — I already did my gratitude post for today. Should I go back and delete 25% of it so that I can be standard :} :}.

    If I only have to give 75%, does this mean I get 25% more sleep??

  2. 2 djn January 9, 2007 at 3:08 am

    My dear, you have been 75% tagged…


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

