Hola

It’s back into a new semester and this time (presuming none of my paperwork goes astray… … and presuming I can actually afford to buy the obnoxious textbook prices… both things I would not rule out in advance) I hope to be taking a literature and a Spanish class.

Now Spanish is really an odd choice for here… your chances of actually using Spanish on a day to day basis are pretty darn slim… you’d have a better chance to practice with French or even Japanese as a second language. But the course had great hours to fit my life, which moved it up the list of choices.

And, given that all I have left in my degree are electives, if I can find the time to get through both of these, find the fortune for books for both of these, and find the brains to pass both of these, I do believe I may be celebrating a graduation come May.

If for some reason you can’t find me, check the living room….
Dora might be on 😉
And a girl’s gotta do, what a girl’s gotta do.

8 Responses to “Hola”


  1. 1 LSM January 5, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Good luck with the Spanish. Growing up in Texas, I took French. Yeah, that made sense too!

  2. 2 Rambling Mom January 5, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Do you get a show called Maya and Miguel? You can start watching that also.

    (Funny thought — from watching Dora and Maya and Miguel – Princess knows more Spanish than Chinese)

  3. 3 Alto2 January 5, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Any time you need help with the español, just email me. I speak, read, and write it fluently. Have a good semester!

  4. 4 MLL January 5, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Wow, that’s totally different from here…..Spanish is the language of choice because its so common!

  5. 5 leslie January 5, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    … and you can reward yourself with a trip to Mexico once you graduate!

  6. 6 ChaCha January 6, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Know what sock girl I just read most of your blog and I really like it. I plan on sticking around to read more. After your course is done, what job could you apply it to?

  7. 7 BunnyBubblette January 6, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Back when I was first married, when we went to visit my in-laws in Miami (a Cuban suburb of Miami, actually), I couldn’t even order my own lunch at McDonalds because I didn’t speak Spanish. The McDonalds workers actually had the nerve to get annoyed with me for wanting to order in English. Ah, well, that was 25 years ago. Now it’s the next generation working at McDonalds. They speak English now, but with a heavy Cuban accent. The funny thing is that Mr. Daddy tells me that these kids who speak English with a heavy accent don’t even speak Spanish very well! That’s really unfortuate to be bi-lingual but not very articulate in either language!

    On our most recent trip down there a couple weeks ago, I just had to take a picture of my dinner from KFC. Why? Because black beans and rice is a standard side-dish at that particular KFC! That just blew my mind.

  8. 8 djn January 7, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Well, if you ever visit Denver, you’ll get to use your Spanish.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

