Considering Resolutions

One perpetual resolution of mine — at New Year’s and pretty much any time — is to get more organized. Above is a perfect example of how my reality typically turns out… important reminders get written on a sticky note and then stuck to my computer monitor where I will be sure to see them, remember them, and act on them. Regrettably, I get so used to seeing the stickies that I no longer notice them.

With the new year waiting in the wings, this is the time that I’m naturally thinking about the year that is passing and how I’d like to improve and change in the year to come. I’m not entirely convinced that resolutions are the best approach, as much as a more perpetual drive to improve oneself and one’s lot in life. … But help me out here… Have you ever “resolved” something at New Years and had it work for you? What was it and what did you do to make it work for you? Do you have traditions for New Years that are meant to inspire a prosperous New Year?

I’d love to hear from you on this!

3 Responses to “Considering Resolutions”


  1. 1 Mom of 4K December 31, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    Hey K-A,
    I am forever wishing I were more organized. That is my biggest hurdle, and in my job, I am supposed to help kids keep their school work organized, etc. LOL Anyway, if you find a way–please share it!!!

    Happy New Year!!
    Love,
    Anne

  2. 2 Robin December 31, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    The only resolution I’ve ever been successful at keeping was to quit smoking, but that took me over 20 years to finally get it right.

    That’s the thing, I think. To keep trying. The trick, for me, was to make more than a resolution. I made a plan, including all the small steps I’d need to take to get to where I wanted to be. I even included ways to deal with backsliding.

    I’m doing the same with weight loss for this new year. I’ve made a plan. I’ve invested money in that plan (not a lot, but enough that it’ll keep me motivated). I even bought a fancy-dancy workout log because I know I’ll hate seeing empty pages if I skip exercising.

    As for traditions, I inherited my husband’s traditions when we got married since my family really didn’t have any (other than get roaring drunk and make fools of themselves). He’s right now searching the newspapers for a place that will be serving pork and sauerkraut tomorrow. We have a recipe that tells you the meanings of the ingredients (can’t remember them all now, but it’s something like sauerkraut for luck, apple for health, etc.) and if we were home we’d be making it tomorrow. Since we’re not home, we’re going to Philly for the Mummer’s parade (if it isn’t rained out).

    Happy New Year and much luck to you with your resolutions!

  3. 3 djn December 31, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    Screw resolutions! Just keep being the same good person that you are. And may you be a good example to your daughters so they will grow up to be good as you are good!

    Happy new year, blue!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

