Sock Girl vs Christmas


In the game of Sock Girl versus Christmas, Christmas seems to be winning. There was a point this evening when I was in the mall with a bunch of other panicked shoppers and I felt it might be just appropriate to have myself a little melt down right there in front of Santa’s chair. But I held it (reasonably) together and browsed for inspiration. And what did I find for my great display of fortitude in braving the masses and shopping with only a small episode of tears? Nada. Nothing. Zip. I did not find one single gift.

So next I went grocery shopping. And the woman in front of me had a basket FULL of Christmas stuff… no food… just decorations, cards, and a Santa suit. Then she turns to me and says that they are FOR NEXT YEAR! Next! Year! Sweet merciful bird, people, that’s just sick. I’m just saying.

3 Responses to “Sock Girl vs Christmas”


  1. 1 Lauri December 21, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    Argh. People like that drive me crazy. I asked a friend of mine if she was done with her shopping. She said she started in February, and finished by August. I told her I would try hard to still like her.

  2. 2 djn December 21, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    Look on the bright side: I think that means that this woman is a compulsive spender. Find comfort in the fact that you are MUCH more financially responsible than she is.

  3. 3 Alto2 December 22, 2006 at 2:46 am

    Well, I can’t say I shop a year in advance for the holidays, but I have been known to buy Halloween decorations on sale on November 1. I also start my holiday shopping sometime in late summer. I’m usually on an excursion to Costco and see something I think would appropriate for some kid on my list.

    Shopping tip for you: instead of going to the store looking for a little inspiration, take a few quiet moments and think about what the person would really like and that’s within your budget. The malls are overwhelming at this time of year.

    Oooh! How about Christmas shopping in the grocery store?


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

