Another Fashion Disaster


So I get into the office this morning and I take off my boots. I slip my feet into my shoes and turn on my computer. I take care of a few immediate tasks, then decide to make coffee. I walk down the hall to the kitchen, acknowledge someone at the copier, say hello to someone in the hall, return to my desk, return a couple of calls, go back and pour a coffee, again chat with copier girl, and generally go about my business of the day. Now being Monday, I am naturally drinking a fair bit of coffee and made a couple of similar journeys as I went about my morning.

Just about mid-morning, the coffee takes toll and nature calls. So, there I am in the ladies room, taking care of things, when I look down at my feet — obviously for the first time since I arrived…

…because I’m wearing “nightshade” hose with a light brown shoe on the left foot and and a dark black shoe on the right foot. Obviously, when I slipped on my shoes when I got in, I wasn’t really watching what I was doing. And nobody told me the entire morning that I was wearing two different shoes. The entire freaking morning.

Could I have possibly interacted with all those people and really not had one single person even notice I had two completely different colours on my feet? Yeah… that’s what I thought too. And sadly, I’m both too old and too frumpy to even pretend I was trying to start some new fashion trend.

There is nothing quite like wearing one’s imperfections right out there for a little humble pie on a Monday morning. Clearly you can neither dress me up, nor take me anywhere.

5 Responses to “Another Fashion Disaster”


  1. 1 Rambling Mom December 19, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    For what it’s worth — likely I would not have noticed.

  2. 2 Robin December 19, 2006 at 2:59 pm

    I am one of the world’s most unobservant people when it comes to clothing, hair styles, fashion, etc. It gets me into lots of trouble, not noticing things like that (coworkers asking “why didn’t you tell me my mascara was running down my face?”).

    I wouldn’t have noticed.

  3. 3 Alto2 December 19, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    It’s not a fashion disaster, honey. It’s a *statement*! At the most, those people were reminded of a day when they did exactly the same thing. Don’t sweat it.

  4. 4 MLL December 19, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    LOL…..I came within about 30 seconds of walking out the door wearing 1 black shoe and 1 brown shoe to work the other day. That’s because I’m also frumpy and the shoes are the exact same style (sturdy, sensible, and comfortable), and in the dark I didn’t notice the difference 🙂

  5. 5 BunnyBubblette December 20, 2006 at 12:50 am

    Oh, I never (hardly ever) look at people’s feet at work, so I bet nobody noticed.

    There was one morning when I got about halfway down the highway (about 15 miles into my 30-mile commute) when I realized I was driving with my slippers on. I had a very big decision to make at that point. Do I keep going and get to work on time in bedroom slippers? Or, do I turn around and go home to don appropriate footwear and show up to work ridiculously late? I went home, put shoes on, got to work ridiculously late, then gave everybody a good laugh in staff meeting that afternoon when I explained why I had been late that morning.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

