Gift shopping


I just came back from the evil department store. Oh. My. G*d. I think I’m antisocial. I just can stand people. Except blog readers, of course… whom I love, of course. But those other people… shoppers who linger over items right in the middle of the dang aisles so that there is no way to pass without plowing through them. Which of course I do. Because I’m really not in the mood for this shopping crap.

And I really hate to just give gift cards. As much as I personally would adore receiving a gift card, I really like to put a great deal of thought into gifts for people I actually like (not those strangers who are just getting in my way as I wander aimlessly hoping the perfect item jumps out at me at a bargain price). And chances are very high that once I think of the perfect thing I probably will never find it anyway.

Have you ever gotten the perfect gift? What made it perfect? And what would the perfect gift be for you this Christmas?

Because my friends, I really need some inspiration here… or someone lingering too long in centre aisle is going to get seriously maimed. I’m just saying.

3 Responses to “Gift shopping”


  1. 1 djn December 16, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    Rich gave me a gift early this year. We were heading to a party but none of my nice pants fit. They hung there like some rapper’s pants. He saw my distress and said, “I can help you!” and he ran to my car, which is where he stored my Christmas gifts, and brought out a beautiful outfit (cashmere sweater, mmmm…) and some pants that actually fit. Very cute outfit and it all fit perfectly. So, it was a perfect gift! He bought it from my favorite store where all the sizes stay true. Ahh, I was in heaven.

    I’m not much of a gift card giver either — only when I’m at a complete loss.

  2. 2 BunnyBubblette December 16, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    OMG, I absolutely hate those people in stores too! I especially hate Costco customers. They are all so oblivious and obnoxious, especially if they’re busy talking on their cell phones! It’s common sense to me that if you must stop to look at something, then you should pull your cart over to the side to leave as much room as possible for people to pass. Most people are totally oblivious and leave their cart right in the middle. Some people get SO distracted by what they want to look at that they do this little stop and spin move so that their cart is perpendicular to the aisle. Sometimes I feel like saying, “Excuse me, but if you’re trying to totally block the whole aisle, you’re doing a pretty good job of it, but you’re not quite totally blocking it.” That’s what I’d like to say, but I don’t. Instead, I usually just say “Excuse me” once or twice, progressively louder. If they still don’t get the fuck out of my way after the second or third ‘excuse me’ then I just reach over and push their cart out of my way and plow right through. Then they give me a dirty look, but I don’t care.

    And those are just my comments about the Costco customers. I totally avoid the mall this time of year. If I went there, I’d be fit to be tied because the people in the parking lot would totally piss me off. People with their shopping carts in the aisles at Costco are simply oblivous. People trying to find a parking spot at the mall are downright vicious! I won’t go there!

    It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

  3. 3 Christina December 17, 2006 at 6:15 am

    The perfect gift for me this year would be a either a cleaning lady or a gardener. IOW – TIME :->

    I braved a mall on Thursday and it was not too bad really! Maybe because it was still the Thursday two weeks before xmas. I am sure this coming weekdays will be as horrendous as the weekends. I’d rather pay the shipping than go out at this point!!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

