Christmas Memories


I have been thinking about my childhood Christmas memories….

…I recall my Mother’s nativity scene and how I loved to put Santa’s sleigh on the roof of it. (At the time I thought I was doing the baby Jesus a favour).

…I recall the Christmas ball with the skier on it and how I had to be the one to hang that ball. It wasn’t until I got older that I figured out that my mother actually had two of them so my brother and I both actually got the same privilege.

…and I recall this Christmas boot… sort of like a go-go boot, but red and with fur on the top. I think it was to hold candy canes or some such thing. I always wished I had real boots like that… bright, shiney, plastic and red. Very cool in my childhood eyes.

So basically the Christmas memories that are top of mind for me at this very moment centre around the decor of Christmas… the stuff and the traditions I had around those ornaments. Yet there is not currently a single shred of Christmas evident in my home. None. No tree up yet. No ornaments hung. Will this qualify me for another Mean Mommy award?

This sock has got to get it in gear, people!

2 Responses to “Christmas Memories”


  1. 1 Alto2 December 12, 2006 at 4:32 am

    There’s a reason all those Christmas songs have memorable lyrics: to revive the spirit and the soul. So, “Haul out the holly. Put up the tree before my spirits fall again.” And, “somewhere in my memory, Christmas joys all around me.”

    Make this Christmas memorable for you and your children. You all deserve it.

  2. 2 Bethany December 13, 2006 at 2:28 am

    The boot! We had the boot. I had forgotten about that-thanks for th ememory jog.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

