Glasses. Again.

As I’m sitting here attempting to write my infamous essay (yes I’ve been sitting here ALL FREAKING DAY), I get a call from the school. It seems Rainbow needs to see an eye doctor. The public health nurse is of the opinion that Rainbow needs glasses. That, of course, made my day given all the luck I’ve had with my current set.

I, of course, made the mistake of mentioning glasses to Rainbow.

“It will just be a waste of your money because I will not wear them,” she stated as if it could not be more of a fact.

I did not back down, of course. I’m mean like that.

“How about you help me think of ways to hide them from madam (teacher)?” she even suggested.

Ya’ gotta’ give her props for optimism.

Is it just me or does anyone else get the sense that I’m going to be earning back that “Meanest Mommy in the World” title in the very near future?

3 Responses to “Glasses. Again.”


  1. 1 Robin November 29, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    No mother worth her salt gets through the raising of children without winning that award several times over. That said, I’m glad to have relinguished my hold on the title and now get to be the grandma who spoils her grandchildren rotten so said grandchildren’s parents can have their turn at being Meanest Mommy (and/or Daddy) in the World.

    Karma. 🙂

  2. 2 djn November 29, 2006 at 6:57 pm

    Awww, I bet she’ll look adorable! Isn’t there anyone famous or not that she looks up to who wears glasses?

  3. 3 djn November 29, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    One more thought… It cracks me up that your daughter’s biggest problem in the world is that she may have to wear glasses for a few years while you’re stressing day after day over a paper…


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

