Big Day Tommorrow

So I’m sure you’ve all heard the news about the big day tommorrow…

No, no… not Tom & Katie’s wedding…

It’s my birthday tommorrow! (Avoiding momentarily the fact that a) I’m a perfect stranger to them, and b) I’m decidedly not a fan, I’m firmly convinced they chose that date to honour me).

Now, a couple of years ago everyone sort of forgot my birthday. And even though I’m not much of a personal birthday celebrator, the somewhat complete lack of acknowledgement kind of sucked. Then last year, I announced the big event all over the place and there was cake in the office (ok, so they stuck a second candle in the cake of someone else who has the same birthday) and a reasonable fuss was made. It was better. But this year, with my birthday on a weekend, it seems just a bit lame to stroll in today and announce ‘Hey! My birthday is tommorrow!” Big. Deal.

Now all is not lost though… as I have a great deal to look forward to during this next trip around the sun…
– I’m going to complete NaBloPoMo… maybe even win a prize… maybe even this (my favourite prize)
– The final Harry Potter book will come out
– I may finish my degree
– And, of course, my invitation to Tom and Katie’s wedding hasn’t come yet. There’s always that.

5 Responses to “Big Day Tommorrow”


  1. 1 Shelley November 17, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    Well, Happy Birthday to YOU!

  2. 2 Alto2 November 17, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    Happy Birthday to you, you wonderful woman! Go get yourself some new blue socks.

  3. 3 Peter November 17, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    Hi Sock Girl,

    Thank you for commenting on my post Adding a Link List to the sidebar in your blog. I have responded to your comment and hope that it will be of help to you.

    Peter
    Testing Blogger Beta

  4. 4 BunnyBubblette November 18, 2006 at 12:38 am

    Happy Birthday, Sock Girl!!!

    I had one birthday when absolutely nobody in the whole world acknowledged it. It was in my early to mid twenties (I honestly don’t remember exactly which one, but it was really depressing at the time). I got a card in the mail from my mom, but nobody in the world (not even my mom) picked up the phone that day to actually *say* happy birthday. It was during that period in my life when I was desperately trying to ignore my parents and be independent (like I think my Princess Dolly is doing now), and I think (I hope) that my parents were dying to call me but decided to leave me alone because I was so determined to ignore them.

    Anyway, my birthday is next Saturday, November 25.

    Remind me to tell you some day what I got in the mail last year ON my 50th birthday!

  5. 5 djn November 18, 2006 at 4:11 am

    Happiest of Happy Birthdays to you!! My daughter is also a Scorpio, thought I don’t know what that means.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

