What My Girls Are NOT Getting For Christmas

So I make a quick trip to the grocery store this morning, and walk past a display of toys (our store sells a wide variety of items). This particular one caught my eye…

I’m a few feet past the display when it hits me… was that a male Barbie packaged with a dozen pairs of female Barbie shoes? WTF?? A Barbie with a shoe fetish? Does Mattel have a new line of fetish dolls? I go back to take a closer look, just so I know what to Google later and discover the doll’s name is Derek. It turns out that he is “Prince Derek, the Royal Cobbler” which, while it explains the shoes, does not explain a) why a prince would have a side-job in the first place, or b) why he only seems to be making women’s shoes. Obviously there has to be more to the Prince Derek story than I know.

What I do know, however, is (Derek’s alleged shoe fetish aside) that there is no freaking way I’m getting my girls anything with twelve pairs of Barbie shoes. Don’t get me started on Barbie shoes! What were they thinking? Do you know how long it would be before the very favorite pair of those little plastic nuisances would disappear into the dust bunnies, or be eaten by the dog, or vanish in some other mysterious way? That thing has holiday morning disaster written all over it. I’m just saying.

6 Responses to “What My Girls Are NOT Getting For Christmas”


  1. 1 djn November 15, 2006 at 9:58 pm

    This is VERY strange, I agree. What would a prince be doing moonlighting as a cobbler? Is there some drug habit he has to support? I don’t like the sounds of this one… I’m not buying it either (I wouldn’t anyways, but that’s beside the point).

  2. 2 BunnyBubblette November 15, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    WHAT were they thinking when they came up with this weirdo idea?

  3. 3 Rambling Mom November 15, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    OKAY — thanks for the heads up. I went shopping for birthday presents the other day (for twins so I needed two presents). I had *MY* list of what not to get.

    1) anything needing batteries
    2) anything with irritating electronic voices
    3) anything with an overabudance of small parts destined to get lost.

    now I can add another …..

    4) anything with too dang many pairs of shoes.

  4. 4 Masked Mom November 16, 2006 at 12:54 am

    Barbie shoes are the debil (as Kathy Bates in The Waterboy would say).

  5. 5 Lauri November 16, 2006 at 3:54 am

    Thanks for the laugh! A prince with a shoe store….either a girl’s dream come true or the girl should be very worried about the habits of said prince!

  6. 6 Robin November 16, 2006 at 8:13 pm

    Now I know what not to buy my granddaughter for Christmas this year. What a strange idea!! I wonder who dreamed that up and thought to themselves “This is BRILLIANT!” Sheesh.

    I’m just getting caught up with everybody today and saw your post about being a driver and a passenger. Very interesting perspective. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

