Driving Through Life

In a recent post Robin at Life in the Bogs used this writing prompt from Sunday Scribblings:

I don’t want to be a passenger in my own life.” (Diane Ackerman)

Both the prompt, and Robin’s response got me thinking…

Robin discusses living life on autopilot versus living in the moment. Now this got me pondering… do you think it is possible to live your life too much the other way? Always the driver? How many times have I thought “seemed like a good idea at the time…” What would a life totally made up of those moments be like? What is a life that does not take time from the ‘driving’ to consider the meaning of it all (‘passengering’?)? Interesting to contemplate. Perhaps we need a balance of taking the wheel and studying the map.

~~ * ~~ * ~~

On another matter, I think I proved once and for all that I am perhaps the Queen of Frump. Today I dressed in a hurry. As usual we were running late. I grabbed a vibrant purple shirt from the back of my closet (as I hadn’t seen it in a very long while and it caught my eye), a pair of black dress pants, and out the door I went.

“Haven’t seen that shirt before…” remarked Husband.

“It’s purple!” exclaimed Rainbow.

“Do you have any other clothes we haven’t seen before?” asked Dolittle.

I was feeling pretty good about myself as I started out my day. Like I was wearing something new. Then I happened to catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror of the office kitchen. It was only then that I noticed that the shirt had shoulder pads. And the moisture in the air was giving me a larger than life bohemian hair-doo. Cue the disco music… I was a real live 80’s flashback. And I had no choice at that point, but to look like that the entire day.

Please see above comment on how a life completely made up of “seemed like a good idea at the time” might not be the best course of action.

1 Response to “Driving Through Life”


  1. 1 Cheryl November 24, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    Thank you so much for the smile.

    I bought a great hooded purple sweater at a sale this year. Remind me that I must try on sweaters before I buy them. I love the color and the little decile on the front. However, I got it home and put it on… It is a belly shirt. Does not suit me at all but every couple of weeks, half asleep, I grab it from the closet because I like the color, then I am stuck wearing it all day because I am too cold to take it off.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

