Dinner for the Stars

Alto2 tagged me to answer a movie quiz… which is really very interesting and I loved her answers… but I have to make an embarrassing confession here… I know squat about grown up movies. As evidence, when she asked: “Steal one costume from a movie for your wardrobe. Which will it be?” all I could think of was Princess Fiona’s green dress from Shrek. And as pitiful as that is, and sidestepping for a moment that the dress isn’t even real, imagine even thinking about stealing a costume that barely ever gets changed during the entire movie. She was stuck for G*d knows how long in that castle wearing that thing. Ewwwww. (At least she would have little doubt what colour of Crocs would go best with it!

Anyway, one question which was in the tag that I may be able to comment on was: “Invite five movie people over for dinner. Who are they? Why’d you invite them? What do you feed them?

The first that springs to mind is J.K. Rowling (yes, technically more of an author but since the books are made into movies I’m thinking she qualifies). I would invite her because I am a Harry Potter fan and love the rags to riches story of her life. It is inspiring and hopeful.

Next, I’d invite Brendan Fraser as he appeared in “George of the Jungle.” I actually know little about the actor. I’m pretty much just inviting him as scenery. Please come in costume.

I think I’d invite Sandra Bullock. She seems to be down to earth enough and hasn’t really done any raunchy starlet stuff that I’m aware off (but I’m the first to admit, I’m not really savy to the world of pop culture and the comings and goings of movie stars, so if it turns out I’m totally wrong I reserve the right to replace her with another movie starlet who is down to earth and not full of herself, if indeed one exists).

Next I’d invite Mike Myers. That is because a) he is a famous Canadian, and b) because it would be like inviting a whole bunch of people at the same time. Instant party.

And last I’d invite Kermit the Frog. The fact is, I have so little in common with all of the above guests that I may need a bit of help with keeping the conversation going. He’s a reporter. He’d probably be a natural at that.

As for what I’d serve, I don’t really know… but it would have to be catered if I had any hope of leaving a positive impression. I do like Alto2’s idea of serving something local, but I have to say that it would seem wrong to serve a frog seafood. I’d best leave the menu up to a professional.

2 Responses to “Dinner for the Stars”


  1. 1 djn November 14, 2006 at 2:23 am

    We’d pick many of the same people. However, I’d have to do without Kermit since I actually ate frog legs a year ago (or so). I’d feel too guilty sitting there with him.

  2. 2 Alto2 November 14, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    I love your choices. Never even thought of JK Rowling. I, too, love Sandra Bullock, and Mike Myers is too funny.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

