Footwear

I will admit to never having gotten on the Croc bandwagon. I’ve seen plenty of folks strolling about in them, I’ve played ‘spot the Croc’ with the kids when shopping, heard from nurses how they are so comfortable on the hard tile floors, etc. Every person I’ve talked to who has them extols the virtues of the rubber shoes. And every other member of the sock household is among them…


But I walk around most of the time feeling quite frumpy. And I just can’t wrap my head around being frumpy and having unattactive and often objectionally coloured footwear. There’s just so much frump a sock can dish out after all. And for some reason Crocs remind me so much of Paddington bear…

I’ll move on momentarily here….

My feet seem inextricably connected to my well being. If my feet are cold, for example, there is no way in heck any other part of me can be warm. And if my feet are sore, achy and tired, there is no way I will feel otherwise.

And I have known for some time that my current sneakers are horribly uncomfortable. And yet in a stroke of stupidity I wore these working Job2 and helping out behind the bar later that evening. Today I can barely stand to be on my feet for any length of time. This does not a happy sock make. These are the shoes of foot destruction:


Yeah, yeah… I hear ‘ya… how can someone who thinks Crocs are unattractive walk around wearing anything as ugly as those. Well after the way my feet feel today, I never will again. Ever. I just can’t take it anymore.

So, the question is, what moderately priced footwear do I replace them with? Yet another pair of bargain sneakers which could turn out to be just as bad, a pair of ugly rubber garden shoes, or something else? And if I chose the ugly and colourful rubber pair, what colour goes best with frump?

7 Responses to “Footwear”


  1. 1 BunnyBubblette November 13, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    Oh, so THAT’S what those ugly rubber shoes are called! I noticed a lot of people wearing the when I was away on vacation. I was totally unaware of them before. I don’t get out much.

  2. 2 Alto2 November 13, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    I hate Crocs, too. They’re ridiculous and worse for their awful colors. Do not submit to the ugly rubber footwear bandwagon. How about a really good pair of sneakers or clogs?

  3. 3 MLL November 13, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    I didn’t know what they were either. I’ve seen nurses wearing them.

  4. 4 In Otter Space November 13, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Clogs gets my vote! I saw some cozy ones at the shoe store yesterday.

    Crocs are to shoes as
    The Thing was to automotive style.

  5. 5 Tanya November 13, 2006 at 6:07 pm

    We are a Croc Family and have them in lots of fun colors (mom has Frumpy brown if that helps you… ;-)). DH has severe foot pain and I bought him the RX pair of Crocs from their website. He wears them and doesn’t complain of foot pain! This is a man who has to wear custom-made orthotics, so I think that is a pretty good testimony.

    Crocs Rock! They are uglier than sin, but you can’t beat the comfort or the ease of the slip-on styling. They probably aren’t great for wet and cold weather though…

    BTW, they have a pretty cute Mary Jane style out for Women and girls. 🙂

    Alto2: Something tells me your feet would appreciate crocs. I peg you for PURPLE Crocs! Hee hee hee….

  6. 6 Christina November 13, 2006 at 11:33 pm

    I saw so many pairs of Crocs on the 3-Day! Including someone actually doing the walk in them!! She had no blisters though, something I cannot claim so..hmmm?? Lots of Crocs on feet once we reached camp and ditched the sneakers too. Might be one of those things that feels so good on your feet that you don’t care how they look. I know my feet post walk were very happy that I had Uggs and Birkies to slip them into. A good shoe makes all the difference in the world!

  7. 7 shoes November 16, 2006 at 9:19 am

    This blog is great and attractive, easy to navigate and cool to look at. The postings are nice and very interesting I am amazed upon looking at every picture it’s cool. I am searching for a blog post which my Closeouts And Liquidations site can be related , and this one is good. It is well and good that we can share our simple thoughts and services to improve our markets… To the owner of this blog keep it up its a great blog i really appreciate it a lot.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

