My Halloween Dilemma

My class is on Tuesday nights. Halloween is on Tuesday night. You can probably see where this is going…

The thing is the class is structured so that we have covered models of love and marriage from Greek & Roman civilization up until roughly the 18th century, and this class — this very Halloween class — is the end of the lecture part (it moves to tutorials on the readings). Readings and class material are completely separate. This class is the one where he covers today and how we’ve completely messed up the model of love and marriage (according to what the professor has alluded to so far). Not going to class will feel like I have been reading a book and someone ripped out the last chapter. Never mind that he’ll give tips for the exam and paper… I need to know how the story ends!

But it is Halloween… the second most anticipated annual tradition after Christmas around here… and my kids need me to be a part of it… to get them ready… to shepherd them around… to just be there. Yes, Husband could take them, but he’s been sick and the weather has been lousy. It is also part of their tradition for me to take them to their godparent’s house and do the trek from there. Plus we are back to one vehicle and I’m not loving the idea of taking it to the University on Halloween (though I have no idea why).

I will skip the love class. There is no way I can miss Halloween.
And ironically, it is primarily because of love that I can’t.

3 Responses to “My Halloween Dilemma”


  1. 1 BunnyBubblette October 31, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    Could you ask one of your classmates to tape the lecture for you?

  2. 2 djn October 31, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    What if you take your kids to a mall for trick or treating before the class? At least they’d be warm and then they can watch The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with their dad. 🙂

  3. 3 Anonymous November 1, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    I had one of my own: Wizard had religious school until late. I had an early rehearsal. Wizard also invited a friend to come along. And, it was our anniversary. So, DH picked Wiz up early. We wolfed down some dinner. Trick-or-treated half the street and then Moose was done. I brought him home and then ran out to rehearsal a bit late.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

