Bar smarts

I was behind the bar lending a brief hand when a guy comes over and orders a beer and a shot. As I am about to take his money his friend comes over and says “No, this round is on me.” The two men bicker back and forth about who will pay, and Guy2 takes the $10 bill off Guy1 and rips in half. He then passes me a $20. Although I am in complete disbelief (having never seen anyone rip up someone else’s money before) I make Guy2’s change and give it to him.

At this point Guy1 slides half of the ripped $10 over to me, picks up the other half, and tells me he’ll be back later. I’m hoping he is serious, as half of a $10 is of little value to either one of us, yet a long time seems to pass before he makes a return.

So, probably close to two hours later (or maybe it just felt like that long), Guy1 comes back to the bar. There is a new guy (Guy3) standing next to him. “I’ll have a shot and a beer,” Guy1 says as he lays the other half of the $10 on the bartop. I turn my back to pour the shot (as the liquor is behind me) and Guy3 says to Guy1 “Do you think if you rip your money in half it will go twice as far?”

Guy1 turns to Guy3 and says with passable innocent sounding undertones “You don’t think she’ll take it?”

Guy3 assures him I most likely will not.

“Do you want to make a bet?” Guy1 asks.

Guy3, of course, lost the bet, and I have been amused thinking about the exchange ever since.

2 Responses to “Bar smarts”


  1. 1 djn October 23, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    This amuses me so much. I wish I had witnessed it.

  2. 2 Anonymous October 26, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    Boys can be so stupid.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

