Clutter


I am knitting a scarf. How domestic is that? Never mind that I started this scarf two and a half years ago. I am knitting a scarf.

And just now, when I have absolutely no time to sit and knit, I have an urge to work on it. Perchance even finish it.

But I can’t find it.

Husband tells me it is because the house is too damn cluttered. And it is. No argument there. But the scarf *had* a place. It sat right beside my sewing basket for goodness knows how long. It never bothered anyone as far as I know. It looked fine where it was. Martha Stewart-ish even. And now it has vanished in a ten-second tidy.

Note, Husband’s method of tidying a room is to move things from where I know they are to a place where they may never be found… the porch, or the stairs, or heaven knows where… as long as they are not in the room being tidied. Then, when we cannot find what we’re looking for, it is my fault, and *totally* my fault, for the current condition of clutter.

Temporarily blinded by my loss of scarf, I momentarily bought into this argument. “Yes, yes!” I thought. “I haven’t made the time to make this disaster into a comfortable, tidy home!” And for a very brief moment I felt quite guilty about that. Then I stopped myself. Maybe some of this mess has to do with the fact that I work more than one job, take a class, help with homework, make lunches, do laundry, wipe noses, empty/load dishwashers, do the shopping, prepare meals, play with my kids, and do a million other things that sort of eat into that decluttering time. Yes, maybe I haven’t exactly done my share of putting stuff in its place (which apparently is totally my job as well), but I sure as heck wasn’t sitting around eating bonbons either.

So, I guess what I’m saying, dear family, is that as long as I have all that other stuff on my plate (not all of which I mind btw), the scarf and the clutter are in the same sort of boat in terms of my time priorities. And who knows… maybe when I finally get the inkling to navigate the clutter, I’ll find that it … like the scarf… has also disappeared. I live in hope.

2 Responses to “Clutter”


  1. 1 Alto2 October 1, 2006 at 5:06 am

    Ooooh, I don’t like that your DH is complaining about the state of your house. He wouldn’t have a house if it weren’t for you. Tell that man to get off his sorry behind and clean the damn house himself! Hrmph.

  2. 2 Shelley October 3, 2006 at 4:18 am

    I don’t knit but I’m with you on the “tidying”. People shouldn’t touch your stuff!


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

