15 minutes

Granny over at Granny Gets a Vibrator (sorry… link no longer active) is fighting lymphoma. Since discovering blogs, she has been one of my favourite blog reads, with her wit, feminism and strength. Lately, as she battles Brenda (her cancer), she has shared her journey in poignant, often humourous, and always thought provoking posts.

Not so long ago, she posted about a theory of a guy named Bernie Siegel called “finding your chocolate ice cream.” She quotes, “Think about what you would do if you had fifteen minutes to live. Then do it for the rest of your life.” Now obviously, if I knew I only had 15 minutes it would best be spent either in prayer or ensuring I had hugged my loved ones… but what if all that was taken care of… what would I do with my 15 minutes?

I’ve been pondering this for some time, and it is a very hard list to make. Maybe because my needs are fairly simple and don’t seem worthy of a last 15 minutes, or maybe because they’re so simple I keep thinking I’m missing something great. But I’d probably want to do something creative… maybe colour a picture. Or goofy… maybe dance in mud puddles. Or I’d re-read a well loved children’s story like “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie” or “Paper Bag Princess” just because they’re fun. Or maybe I’d spend the time quietly on the shore. I don’t know. But I do indeed see the point that life and time are far too fragile to put off those simple sorts of pleasures.

So, what’s your chocolate ice cream?

3 Responses to “15 minutes”


  1. 1 Alto2 August 30, 2006 at 1:39 pm

    My chocolate ice cream is at the shore early in the morning or at dusk. The little fish are running, and the shore birds and dolphins are feeding. The sky is filled with soft light, and I can make peace with my world. I did it once last week for the first time in a long time. I just wonder why I don’t do it more often. The beach is 4 miles away. Sigh.

  2. 2 djn August 31, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    I have no idea… I can’t even fathom those terms. But I will think about it.

  3. 3 BunnyBubblette September 7, 2006 at 1:18 am

    Darn it! I wish Granny hadn’t turned off her blog. I can’t say I was “enjoying” it recently, but I had gotten pretty caught up in her life. I hope she’s doing okay, and I hope she’ll come back when she’s feeling better.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

