I, Scorpio

I was dismayed yesterday to discover that Pluto has been demoted. Under new guidelines of the International Astronomical Union it is no longer considered a planet, something its been since 1930. Now, 76 years later, it finds itself in the class of “small solar-system bodies” and is considered a “dwarf planet.”

Pluto has always been among my favourites in the solar system. It’s small, like me. It’s out there, sometimes like me. And, for those have ever read their horoscopes occasionally, Pluto rules the sign Scorpio. I am a Scorpio. And, even though I rarely actually read my horoscope, I have to admit that the fact that my sign is ruled by a big frozen rock that is not a planet is a bit disconcerting.

If you’re walking around “ruled” by a big orbiting rock instead of a real planet, does that mean your now in a weaker, gentler sign? Do you think they’ll re-write the zodiac charts to compensate for Pluto’s demotion? And if they do, will I be in a sign symbolized by something other than a Scorpio? Like a turtle, or a hamster? This could seriously affect my sense of self.

Pluto, if you’re floating around out there feeling down today, can I just say that you will always be a planet to me.

1 Response to “I, Scorpio”


  1. 1 Tanya August 28, 2006 at 7:00 pm

    The demotion rocked my World, too! I hope your sense of self isn’t hurt too much. Think of it this way, the forces of Pluto on Scorpio (I really don’t understand this speak, but I’ll go with it) are still the forces they were before Pluto was given the moniker “dwarf planet.” IOW, the Pluto forces, dwarf that they are, are still with you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

