Stuff Happens

Stuff just happens sometimes. You’re just sitting there, minding your own business, and wham… something crazy just happens.

Now, being a few minutes late coming back to work from lunch is not unthinkable in the summer when downtown traffic is significantly increased around here. Summer is a time in Prince Edward Island when visitors outnumber the locals, and it is very easy to forget to include sufficient traffic time in your plans.

So imagine my surprise when on my return from a downtown excursion, not only did I have the increased traffic volume to contend with, but an impromptu parade formed before my very eyes… right in front of my van. Sometimes there’s just nothing you can do but sit and wait for a marching band to go by…

Of course this left me with the dilemma of how to explain why I was late when I got back to the office…
Do I just say “I was caught in traffic”?
Or give them the full “I was driving to work and a parade broke out” version?
Would you have believed me without pictures?

3 Responses to “Stuff Happens”


  1. 1 Alto2 August 2, 2006 at 3:04 am

    Being the closet Streisand fan that I once was, I couldn’t help but hearing the words to “Before The Parade Passes By” in my head as I read your post. Copy down the lyrics and walk back into the office singing them at the top of your lungs!

  2. 2 djn August 3, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    I, myself, was thinking of “76 Trombones” from the Music Man…

    I probably would have believe YOU but I doubt I would have believed most of the men I work with without the picture.

  3. 3 Anonymous August 4, 2006 at 11:50 pm

    That’s funny! No, I wouldn’t have believed you. Good thing cell phones come with cameras built in.

    Wendy


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

