Falling Shoes

I think I am having a bad day. At least it feels like I am having a bad day without there being any particular thing manifest that makes me officially say “well that stinks.” That probably makes no sense, but what I mean to say is that I have this impending feeling that a shoe is about to drop and I will not like the result one little bit.

Which now has me wondering where “a shoe about to drop” came from. What does that mean exactly? What would ever make someone at some point think a falling shoe is an bad thing… unless it was on one’s head or toe or some other body part? Further, it would seem far more unlucky to have a shoe thrown at one rather than simply just dropped. So why don’t people say “it feels like the other shoe is about to be thrown at me” instead of “the other shoe is about to drop”? Odd… don’t you think?

3 Responses to “Falling Shoes”


  1. 1 Alto2 July 5, 2006 at 4:49 am

    So, did a shoe drop? Hope your day was OK.

  2. 2 Anonymous July 5, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    Here’s hoping that your shoes stay on your feet. *Hug*
    Anne

  3. 3 djn July 6, 2006 at 4:03 pm

    The origin of those sorts of phrases are the things that keep me up at night….


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

