Lupine Time

While I’m on the topic of weeds, I would be remiss to mention that it is now what I refer to as Lupine Time in Prince Edward Island. I’m not entirely sure whether they are weeds or wild flowers, but I can tell you that lupins are prolific plants that take our little province by storm this time of year, painting our roadsides with a wave of purple.

If you live here you either love this or you hate this, it seems. Personally, I love this (yet am grateful that I do not have lupines to deal with in my own garden or roadside). To me, just as eyelashes frame beautiful eyes, lupines are a fringe that frames beautiful scenery. They also they mark the time when the weather is still pleasant but those who live here still outnumber the tourists. While it only lasts a couple of weeks, I do adore Lupine Time.

There is not much else to say on the topic, except to share with you a few images of a drive I took after work this evening.


4 Responses to “Lupine Time”


  1. 1 TDR June 21, 2006 at 1:10 am

    Does it surprise you to hear we actually *buy* lupines and put them in our gardens? It must be Lupine Time here as well because my two plants are blooming (almost done, really). I hope they spread! 😉

  2. 2 Christina June 21, 2006 at 4:14 am

    Well, I would adore Lupine Time too!! Since they are my most favorite color. They also grow here as a wild flower in conjunction with beautiful yellow and orange California poppies. For us it happens in March though 🙂

  3. 3 Alto2 June 21, 2006 at 4:45 am

    The photos are beautiful. I would love to come see Lupine Time in person. Your land has a wild and rugged beauty.

  4. 4 Anonymous June 21, 2006 at 7:27 pm

    KA, They are wonderful!!! I think they are great. We have flox here that are considered “weeds” but I love to see them.
    Anne


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

