Wishes

A friend is going through something right now and I know those of us who read her blog are sending good thoughts. We love her and her family, and I know that we as a group are sending collective wishes that whatever it is she is experiencing, that the resolution is positive.

And, as I was driving around thinking about her, I started considering collective wishes and the power of positive thoughts (and prayers) of others. I’ve been pondering whether I believed that thoughts alone could, in fact, influence a situation for another human being. Here is what I’ve come up with…

There have been situations in my life where things have felt pretty darn hopeless. And through those times, no matter how bleak and heartbreaking they were, I have known that if I simply asked my group of friends or family to send me good thoughts/prayers, they would do so without even knowing what my situation was. Somewhere in the world someone cared enough about me to close their eyes and wish. And whether or not the cosmos felt the wish, I did. It may not have changed the situation, but knowing I was supported was very powerful. There is power in wishing for others on several levels, I think.

I have learned that if I cannot change a situation, there is little point expending prolonged stress on it. Some things in life just are and (sadly) no amount of wishing will change them. But some things are greatly influenced by our own internal strength… how we cope with what is dealt us, and what we take away from situations. And wishes from others can greatly enhance a person’s internal strength and positive perspective.

I have also become aware that sometimes very small gestures of kindness can make a tremendous impact on someone. Maybe it’s an unexpected note. Maybe it’s a box of just the right thing at just the right time. Maybe it’s just a kind word. Each of those things is actually an expression of a wish for another person. “Hey other person, I’m thinking of you. And I wish nice things for you”

The other day Rainbow tried to explain to me the correct way to make a wish. You see, in her mind, she had grown bigger simply by wishing it to be so. That, to her, makes her some kind of wish expert. According to her, if my wishes aren’t coming true, I simply haven’t been wishing long enough or hard enough. It can be done you see, and she is the proof of that.

I am reminded of a card that I once framed and kept on my desk. It said “Miracles come in all shapes and sizes and happen to those who believe in them.” Sometimes, a wish from someone else is all it takes to help you believe.

1 Response to “Wishes”


  1. 1 Lauri May 31, 2006 at 1:21 pm

    What a great post! I believe in the collective power of prayers/wishes too.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

