Finding Sperm on Freecycle

This morning our local Freecycle list contained a post from a lesbian couple seeking a sperm donor. Then, all heck broke loose.

First someone complained that they couldn’t post a pet but this gets posted.

Then the moderator verified that it was not allowed on the list and alluded to the immorality of it.

Then those defending it noted that the purpose of Freecycle was to keep good stuff out of landfills yet there isn’t a lot of sperm cluttering up landfills (never mind that it’s more likely compost, but I digress).

Then post after post people responded that people shouldn’t respond – that they should just acknowledge it was an error and move on.

Yet post after post they didn’t bother to clip the original message. Brilliant. Never mind whether they think it’s ethical or not to request such a thing on Freecycle (personally I have more opinions on whether using the venue of Freecycle for it was smart or not than I do on the morality of it), but for opponents to continue to repost what they are averse to because they couldn’t be bothered to use the delete key was a good day’s amusement in itself. By my guess their request was posted about a half dozen times. Maybe it wasn’t such a bad venue after all.

2 Responses to “Finding Sperm on Freecycle”


  1. 1 anne May 16, 2006 at 11:13 pm

    OMG, that was so funny!!! Just think if it is “used” that they want to give away. Ugh. Sorry, I couldn’t resist.
    <3
    Anne

  2. 2 freakcycle August 7, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    There is so much about Freecycle that amuses me and that sperm post would have had me going for days. I love Freecycle so much that I write a blog about all the odd and funny stuff I’ve found there. If you want to submit that original sperm post, I would love to include it in my blog. Take a look at it and see if it wouldn’t be right at home with the rest of the kooky posts. Thanks. http://www.freakcyle.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

