The Tooth Fairy Came By

Wednesday was the day of Rainbow’s dental work in the hospital. I dreaded the day but it came nonetheless. I was up early doing paperwork and didn’t need to wake her. She came down on her own, just in time, and was anxious to get things over with. Bless her heart… she had visions of just going to sleep and waking up refreshed with a beautiful smile. I hoped she would be right, but knew in my heart it would probably be much much worse.

The hospital was an hour’s drive away and she was not allowed to eat or drink from midnight the night before. I knew that would be one of the biggest issues for her, as she loves her cocoa first thing in the morning. I didn’t eat either, just to be fair to her. It would have been cruel to journey on a full belly, while my baby was hungry in the back seat. She went to the hospital still wearing her jammies, and was snuggled in her car seat with two of her favourite stuffed toys.

We arrived at the hospital and checked in at the appointed hour, but were told that the person before us had just gone in to the OR. We would have a two hour wait before they came to get Rainbow. We went into the little waiting room and read books, and played with the Magnadoodle. I discovered that she loved playing tic-tac-toe and she particularly loved winning at it. I must have lost 100 games to her in that two hours. She liked that a lot.

At one point she told me that it would be ok if I went to get a coffee because if I had a coffee she wouldn’t feel like eating (she doesn’t particularly like the smell). The woman serving in the coffee shop was an interesting character. She was probably in her 60’s, never smiled, and wore an honest-to-goodness Easter bonnet. I was delighted to finally get my caffeine, but Rainbow still complained about her growling belly…. “I feel like a poor person” she cried. Poor baby.

Finally, they came to get my girl. They passed me some information to read. Rainbow put on her little blue hairnet hat thing, and chatted with the nurses about her teddies while they wheeled her away. I knew she was oblivious to the trauma that would hit her mouth, and I feared her first time in anaesthesia. As I watched her little bed disappear, I cried. I cried for her pending pain, I cried for the dang teeth she inherited from me, and I cried with fear. I sat and prepared for another 2.5 hour wait while they worked on her.

Eventually, another family came… a fearful 10 year old, her mother, and her aunt. They chatted and kept my mind busy. I was grateful for the company. Finally, Rainbow’s bed was wheeled back. The doctor came in and told me she had eight caps, two fillings, and her front teeth had been removed.

I walked slowly to her bed. Her face was crimson. Her eyes fluttered open and she screamed at me. “MY THROAT HURTS! MY CHEEK HURTS! MY TEETH HURT! I AM NEVER COMING BACK HERE AGAIN! THIS IS NOT WHAT I EXPECTED! I WANT TO GO HOME!” She got out of bed and flug herself on the floor. I got down on the floor and held her, trying to sooth her.

Bitch Nurse came over. “She cannot run around.” (She wasn’t running, she was thrashing).

“She cannot scream because other people are resting” (All the other beds in the room were empty).

“You should get her off the floor.” (I continued ignoring her and sat on the floor with my baby. Bitch Nurse went away).

After much more screaming and crying. I eventually got Rainbow calmed down. And we were eventually cleared to leave.

I carried her out of the room and walked past the coffee shop. “Can I have a cookie, please” she whispered. “I’m starving.” I found a very soft chocolate chip cookie and paid Easter Bonnet Lady. We left then and headed back home.

During the drive she complained again that her throat hurt. I couldn’t give her any more pain reliever for another hour. She also wasn’t eating her cookie. I noticed that the Frosty Treat was open and asked her if she’d like to stop for ice cream. She did. So, we ordered her a soft serve, and sat under a rainbow coloured umbrella and watched people. She licked her cone, and I even got her to laugh at a comment or two. I was glad to see my baby coming back to her old self, though she was frustrated when she couldn’t bite the cone.

Eventually we continued our journey home and she fell asleep. Because of the trauma of the day, the Tooth Fairy left Rainbow $10 for her trouble (a record amount in this house), so the next day she was quite appeased. We went out and shopped for a new doll, and she is rarely seen without her these days.

Of course, Dolittle lost a tooth last night in her sleep so she’s expecting great things from the fairy now also. Sigh. I somehow doubt, however, that the Tooth Fairy would be nearly as generous without the hospital involvement.

And did I mention that I have a toothache now too?

3 Responses to “The Tooth Fairy Came By”


  1. 1 Christina April 18, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    Oh my! Bitch nurse indeed. She’d have had an earful from me! I am so glad the ordeal is over for both of you.

    Of course I had to read this when Alex and I both have dental appts this afternoon! 🙂

  2. 2 MLL April 18, 2006 at 9:11 pm

    Poor little Rainbow :-((
    How’s she doing today?

  3. 3 mimi April 19, 2006 at 11:28 am

    OH! What a rotten experience! I wish I had been there to have an *ahem* discussion *ahem* with Bitch Nurse. Grrr… Hugs to you and your girl. I hope she’s feeling much better. xo


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

