What brings you comfort?

Did you ever wish you had a magic wand and you could just make everything ok?

Next week I have doctor’s appointments for kids, hospitalized dental appointments for kids, most likely a meeting with Advisor, possibly a final exam (if this dang strike ever ends), tax work (in Canada we have until April 30), Easter… And some people in my life (unintentionally) are reducing my ability to cope as well as I might, though I understand where they’re coming from.

I’m feeling overwhelmed with everything. I’m not even sure chocolate would help.

How do I get myself a fairy godmother? I need some good news in my life. Soon.

I think I need to spend some time thinking about what brings me comfort. I need to shut out some stuff and try and remember a time I felt a sense of calm and peace. What about those times made it feel comfortable? How can I recreate that?

So tell me…. what brings you comfort when the road gets bumpy?

3 Responses to “What brings you comfort?”


  1. 1 Christina April 4, 2006 at 10:34 pm

    Two things immediately came to my mind. Cleanup yardwork and going for a long, hilly walk.
    Pulling weeds or trimming bushes/trees because it goes back to my love of playing in the dirt so I get to clear my mind, but I also get to release some agression and destroy stuff.
    A strenuous walk provides a similar mind clearing release. I focus on the beauty of my surroundings, take really deep breaths and work out the stress.
    Hugs to you sweetie. I really hope this stuff clears its way out of your life soon.

  2. 2 mimi April 5, 2006 at 11:08 am

    I can relate to what Christina said – cleanup is great therapy, but my venue of choice is housework rather than yardwork. The task of cleaning takes my mind off the problems, and the resulting clean, orderly house makes my whole life seem more orderly.

  3. 3 MLL April 5, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Leaning on/talking to my DH often gives me the most comfort because he almost always has a better outlook than I do, but sometimes that just drives me crazy. Taking an aromatherapy bath gives me comfort, going ot the beach on a hot day, sometimes cleaning the house or making just one room absolutely sparkle (if you can’t control your life, control your surroundings…), watching a funny movie is often good for a couple hours break from reality too.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

