Change

Today is the last day of March break. Tomorrow, for all intensive purposes, Rainbow & Dolittle’s lives will go back to their regularly scheduled program. I will wake them up, make them breakfast, pack their lunch, see them through the chaos of hair & teeth & clothes, and get them out the door. Things, for them, return to normal.

But not for me. (Please note that beyond what I blog in this post I will not write of this again from a personal perspective). This week, in all likelihood, I will sign an official document that indicates that I have failed. I hope and pray that no one else inadvertently falls with me… that the “regularly scheduled” program stays pretty much regularly scheduled. I will lose many material things, and likely a bit of dignity, but I will retain what I truly value in this world. I have come to realize that as long as I have my family, and as long as we are all healthy and together, I have a treasure. And quite frankly, with a roof over our heads, oil in the furnace, food on the table, and a warm bed to sleep in, we are blessed beyond compare to many many people in the universe. I am thankful for each and every blessing.

Life doesn’t always turn out the way we think it will. Sometimes we work and work and work at something to no avail. But every experience is an opportunity to learn something, to hone skills, to meet others, to help others and/or to just be a stepping stone to some greater thing regardless of whether we see it at the time or not. I have no doubt that the place I am right now is exactly where I am meant to be for whatever reason or bigger plan.

4 Responses to “Change”


  1. 1 Anne (k4mom) March 27, 2006 at 2:53 am

    My dear friend,
    I hope you know I think of you so often and I pray you are always happy and safe.
    <3,
    Anne

  2. 2 Anonymous March 27, 2006 at 5:15 pm

    K-A,
    I hope you know that you are not only blessed, but you are a blessing and inspiration to so many others (including me). Love you!!

    Marcia

  3. 3 Christina March 27, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    Allow me to chime in and wholeheartedly agree with what both Anne and Marcia have said here.

    Love and hugs to you always.

  4. 4 Anonymous March 29, 2006 at 2:13 am

    Just wanted to let you know I’m reading and thinking about you. I hope yesterday went okay and that you are hanging in there. You have lots of people who care!

    Lisa M.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

