Planting a Song in My Brain

And the theme song is…

“Ordinary Day” by Great Big Sea.

So the experiment began this morning. Yesterday positively sucked. I know it could have been worse (it can always be worse), but it sucked nonetheless. I won’t get into the details but suffice it to say that I was cold, and sick, and stressed and generally cranky. Then I overheard a co-worker playing “Ordinary Day” as she listened to some East Coast music while she worked. And it clicked.

So this morning, when I woke up with immediate stress again, I started singing it. And it helped. Now, keep in mind that I am a closet performer… I won’t even sing in front of the dog. And I sang it out loud. And I hummed it as I got ready for the day. And I sang it again as I tried to get the kids out the door. And my family keeps looking at me like I’ve lost my mind. But you know… even sitting here and keeping the song just in my head, I feel better. And I can’t help smiling. Who knows, maybe by putting some positive energy out there in the cosmos, some positive stuff will come back. (Stay tuned!)

[Chorus]
And I say way-hey-hey, it’s just an ordinary day
and it’s all your state of mind
At the end of the day, you’ve still got to say,
it’s all right.

(Now I just have to learn the rest of the words).

2 Responses to “Planting a Song in My Brain”


  1. 1 starbender February 28, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    Don’t worry-B happy!
    :]

  2. 2 Michael Morab April 7, 2006 at 7:24 am

    Your blog is creative Keep it up. Michael Morab


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

