The House of Sock

It is hard to believe that 3 months have passed since my girls and I moved into our new home.  It has been an extreme amount of work, and worth every single bit of energy.  I never imagined how healing a fresh start would be.  Even now, amid chaos and stress, I walk in the door and feel peace, joy, and gratitude for such a blessing.  There is not a day that goes by that I do not send up a word of thanks for the space we share together.

We are amid a spring blizzard here today, safely nestled into Chez Sock,  and I thought I would take a bit of the lazy day and show you just some of what I’ve been up to in making the house into our home….

Project number one involved filling holes in the walls.  You know those plastic anchor thingies that people put in plaster walls to make sure screws stay in place?  They were EVERYWHERE.  This was not a small job.  I think they shot them into every wall with some kind of plastic anchor machine gun.  Seriously.  My walls looked like this up close (click pictures for more detail)…

IMG_20131212_110616

There was hardly a wall in the house that did not require extensive hole filling, priming, and painting to repair.  So, our living space went from this:

IMG_20131211_154300

To this:

IMG_20131216_104728

To this:

living-dining

There was even a Christmas tree in that space by Christmas Eve. :)

You will notice in picture 2 that the kitchen island was not in stellar shape either.  Let’s take a closer look…

no cereal allowed

From another angle, it looked like this:

IMG_20131212_110642

So, with a little ingenuity (also known as stealing ideas finding inspiration from Pinterest), I got two shelf brackets, refastened the finishing boards, and voila!… a cereal safe island :)

Island

And this is the entry transformation:

before-after entryAnd you know what one of my favourite spaces in the entire house is?  *My* space…

IMG_20140126_143248

It’s tiny, but it has everything I need.  If you count a ceiling fan that seems big enough to make the entire house airborne, it even has a few things I don’t need.  At the end of the day, I snuggle in, pretend I’m in a luxurious hotel, begrudge housekeeping for forgetting the chocolate on my pillow, and drift off to peaceful slumber.  In the morning I wake up grateful, still surprised at how blessed I am.

There are projects that still await… if spring should ever arrive in the Maritimes I look forward to seeing what, if any, garden exists.   There are exterior projects and interior final touches, and probably a multitude of maintenance things to do.  Some I look forward to, some less so.  Each, however, is part of this great new life.

Thanks for stopping by :)

 

6 Responses to “The House of Sock”


  1. 1 Terri (August Moms) March 26, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    Your house looks great Karen Anne. As you will find, there is ALWAYS something to be done in a house! It is extremely therapeutic to be able to put the past behind and start fresh. All the best to you and your girls.

  2. 2 Alto2 March 26, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    The House of Sock is just wonderful. May you and your girls enjoy many, happy, healthy years there together.

  3. 3 ann March 26, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    Wow Karen Anne I read this with delight! Next time on the island I hope to find you and this Beautiful Home! Sending Love~

  4. 4 Susanne March 27, 2014 at 8:34 am

    I love the house – and your humor about its “features”.

  5. 5 Robin March 27, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Your home is lovely. So glad you found a place that has everything you need. :)

  6. 6 Fan of striped colored socks :) April 17, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    What a transformation. Your house looks very nice.


Leave a Reply

Help For Writers

Follow me on Twitter

Stat Counter

site stats

Join Team Michael

Join Team Michael

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

